Valedictorian an accomplished business scholar

Ying Yang (Jason) – Valedictorian – Bachelor of Business Administration (4 year) Ying Yang is an accomplished scholar who has earned numerous honours and awards, including The University of Winnipeg’s prestigious Sir William Stephenson Scholarship, as well as the Great-West Life Scholarship and Work Placement. He is also an active volunteer who served as President …Read more >

Faculty to be Honoured at Fall Convocation

WINNIPEG, MB – The University of Winnipeg is pleased to honour two of its outstanding faculty members at the upcoming Fall Convocation ceremony on Friday, October 14, 2016 at 9:30 am, in the UWinnipeg Dr. David F. Anderson Gymnasium, Duckworth Centre, 400 Spence Street. Professor Marilou McPhedran will receive the Marsha Hanen Award for Excellence …Read more >

Dr. Gerry Price to receive the 2016 Duff Roblin Award

The University of Winnipeg is pleased to honour Dr. Gerry Price, Chairman and CEO of the Price Group of Companies with the 2016 Duff Roblin Award in recognition of his many contributions to education and community through visionary business leadership, volunteerism, and philanthropy. Price will receive the award at the 10th annual Duff Roblin Award …Read more >

Two UWinnipeg students dine at Rideau Hall

Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Scholars Jazmin Alfaro and Oluwayemisi Olugboji dined with His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston and former Prime Minister Jean Chrétien earlier this month at Rideau Hall.

Alan Wiebe receives international award

UWinnipeg congratulates  Alan Wiebe, Faculty of Education, who recently received international recognition for his provincial, national, and international contributions in the Areas of Mentoring and Community Outreach. The Program Development Award was handed out in Rijeka, Croatia on May 22, 2016 by the International Centre for Innovation in Education, which is committed to the development …Read more >

Judy Tanner earns Stars of Spence Street Prize

Over her three decades in the Student Records office, she has become a go-to resource for her students and her colleagues on all things UWinnipeg.

Slideshow: Winona LaDuke On Campus

The University of Winnipeg partnered with Spur Winnipeg to present the festival’s event In Conversation with Winona LaDuke on Saturday, May 14, 2016 at Knox United Church. A reception with the US-based Indigenous rights activist and self-proclaimed ‘protector’ of the environment was held on the UWinnipeg campus prior to the event, during which members of …Read more >

Faculty to be Honoured at Spring Convocation

The University of Winnipeg is pleased to honour five of its outstanding faculty members at the upcoming Spring Convocation ceremonies on June 9th and 10th. The awards include the distinguished titles of Instructor Emerita, Fellowship in United College, and other notable faculty awards. Anne Rusnak, BA (Honours) (First Class Honours), MA, DEA (Diploma of Advanced …Read more >

Three extraordinary people to receive Honorary Doctorates

Robert Enright, George Bain and Susan Thompson to be honoured June 9and 10 at Spring Convocation WINNIPEG, MB – A champion of the arts, a scholar-turned-policymaker, and a former Winnipeg Mayor will receive Honorary Doctorates at The University of Winnipeg’s 2016 Spring Convocation which takes place June 9 and 10 in the Duckworth Centre. Robert …Read more >

UWinnipeg’s 2015 Duff Roblin Scholars

The Honourable Duff Roblin (1917-2010), former Premier of Manitoba, was a lifelong advocate for advanced education in Manitoba. More than 35 students have received fellowships which support Indigenous scholarship through the Duff Roblin Scholars Fund to date. Vanessa Tait Born and raised in northern Manitoba, Vanessa Tait is proud of her roots as a Cree …Read more >