Spring 2017 Convocation photo gallery

The University of Winnipeg’s 109th Convocation ceremonies took place on June 15 and 16, 2017. Follow the link for a photo gallery of this year’s events.

GESA Eco-Grant winner earns Campus Sustainability Award

A knowledgeable and engaged environmental advocate, fourth-year science student Rebecca Pedneault has earned The University of Winnipeg’s 2017 Campus Sustainability Award for her contributions to campus waste reduction. Earlier this year, Pedneault introduced a campus-wide plastic bag recycling program designed to expand UWinnipeg’s comprehensive recycling program and educate the University community on environmentally-friendly bag disposal. …Read more >

Meet UWinnipeg’s 2017 Spring Convocation valedictorians

The University of Winnipeg community congratulates Adrienne Tessier, Bethany Maclean, and Geneva Athena Cloutis who will serve as valedictorians at the 2017 Spring Convocation ceremonies.

Marlys Koschinsky to receive Distinguished Alumni Award in June

  The University of Winnipeg Alumni Association is proud to recognize Dr. Marlys Koschinsky, alumna of both The Collegiate and The University of Winnipeg, as the recipient of the Distinguished Alumni award. As the Scientific and Executive Director of the Robarts Research Institute, Koschinsky is internationally renowned for her innovative research into lipoproteins and cardiovascular …Read more >

Paul Thomas, Cindy Blackstock, Byron Williams to receive honorary doctorates

Scholar Paul Thomas, Indigenous activist Cindy Blackstock, and public interest lawyer Byron Williams will each receive an honorary doctor of laws from The University of Winnipeg at Spring Convocation on Thursday, June 15, 2017 and Friday, June 16, 2017. Paul Thomas has served as a scholar, teacher, researcher, and mentor in the field of public …Read more >

Entrepreneur Ida Albo To Receive Honorary Doctorate

An accomplished economist, successful entrepreneur, and ardent community supporter whose impassioned generosity and civic pride drives her desire to improve the quality of life for all Winnipeggers, Ida Albo will receive an honorary degree at UWinnipeg’s 108th Convocation on October 14th. As co-owner of Winnipeg’s iconic Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre, Albo has …Read more >

Renowned Architectural Historian Receives Distinguished Alumni Award

The University of Winnipeg Alumni Council is pleased to announce Dr. Frank Albo as recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award for the Autumn 2016 convocation ceremonies. Dr. Albo is an internationally renowned architectural historian and known locally as the inspiration behind The Hermetic Code, a bestselling book detailing the fascinating secrets and symbolism of the …Read more >

2016 Spring Convocation Photos

Hover over the picture above and click on the arrows to scroll through the image gallery. (Photos by Jason Halstead, copyright UWinnipeg) The University of Winnipeg community extends best wishes to the honourees, award winners, and more than 1,000 graduating students of the 107th Convocation, which took place on June 9 and 10, 2016. Click …Read more >

Meet our valedictorians for 2016 Spring Convocation

The University of Winnipeg community congratulates Ari Decter-Frain (Faculty of Arts), Adam Bergman (Faculty of Business and Economics), and Brenna Pomanski (Gupta Faculty of Kinesiology and Applied Health) who will serve as the valedictorians at the 2016 Spring Convocation ceremonies held on June 9th and 10th. Faculty of Arts: Ari Decter-Frain is a philosopher at heart, …Read more >

Chemistry student earns Campus Sustainability Recognition Award

As a dedicated chemistry student and teaching assistant, Michael Wiebe consistently went above and beyond his duties. Under the mentorship of Professor Devin Latimer, Wiebe developed a novel experiment for The University of Winnipeg’s new microwave reactor, which allows for student-led discovery of the 12 principles of Green Chemistry. An emerging area, Green Chemistry focuses …Read more >