UWinnipeg Wesmen 2016-17 Athletic Award Winners

The University of Winnipeg Wesmen is pleased to announce that Women’s Basketball player Antoinette Miller and Men’s Volleyball player Casey Schouten have been chosen as the 2016-2017 University of Winnipeg Wesmen Male and Female Athletes of the Year.

The announcement was made on March 23 at the annual Wesmen Athletic Awards Banquet held at the Radisson Hotel.

Female Athlete of the Year – Antoinette Miller

Miller had a dream season in her first year as a member of the University of Winnipeg Wesmen Women’s Basketball team. She was named the Canada West Most Outstanding Player, Top Defensive Player and a First Team All-Star after playing a vital role in helping the team finish regular season play with a record of 18-2 and a bronze medal finish at the Canada West Final Four. Miller led the conference in both scoring (18.6 ppg) and assists (76). Following the regular season she was named the U SPORTS Top Defensive Player and a First Team All-Canadian. She was named the Lea Marc Printing Wesmen Female Athlete of the Month three times and was selected as the Wesmen Garbonzo’s Female Player of the Week on numerous occasions.

Male Athlete of the Year – Casey Schouten

Appearing in only 12 regular season matches due to injury, Schouten came back stronger than ever. The fourth year outside hitter finished regular season action with 152 kills, 24 service aces (11th in Canada West Conference) 23 blocks and 66 defensive digs. His presence in the lineup made an immediate impact as the team compiled a record of 9-3 in the second half and secured a playoff spot in the ultra-competitive Canada West Men’s Volleyball Conference. Schouten was named the Wesmen Garbonzo’s Male Player of the Week two times during the 2016-17 season.

Complete List of Award Winners

University of Winnipeg Male and Female Athletes of the Year:

Antoinette Miller (Women’s Basketball) – Female Athlete of the Year
Casey Schouten (Men’s Volleyball) – Male Athlete of the Year

Team MVP’s
Antoinette Miller – Women’s Basketball
Ryan Oirbans – Men’s Basketball
Maria Colvin – Women’s Volleyball
Brendan Thielmann- Men’s Volleyball
Joshua Partaker – Men’s Soccer
Taylor Thorkelsson – Women’s Soccer
Kyle Nguyen – Men’s Wrestling
Maura Martina – Women’s Wrestling
Dhruv Barman – MCAC Men’s Basketball
Katrina Gomes – MCAC Women’s Basketball
Jocelyn Bartos – MCAC Women’s Volleyball
Turner Johnson – MCAC Men’s Volleyball

Keith Cooper Memorial Award (Excellence in Community Services):

Taylor Thorkelsson – (Women’s Basketball/Soccer)

Dave Anderson Award (Outstanding Service in the Advancement of Athletics):

Lynn Jones – Manager Dean’s Office (Gupta Faculty of Kinesiology), Booster, Super Fan

Tom Kendall Award (Excellence in Academics and Athletics):

Allison Baergen – (Women’s Soccer)

Bill Wedlake Most Improved Players Award:
Garrett Jones (Men’s Volleyball)
Faith Hezekiah (Women’s Basketball)

Radisson Rookies of the Year:

Madison Fyvie (Women’s Volleyball)
Narcisse Ambanza (Men’s Basketball)

Academic All-Canadians:
36 student athletes were recognized as Academic All-Canadians for the 2015-2016 academic year. In order to gain this status a student athlete must finish the academic year with an overall grade point average of 3.5 or better. Those recognized is as follows:

Women’s Soccer (8): Allison Baergen, Katia Occhino, Inga Christianson, Rachel Dunsmore,
Nicole Seavers, Tyler Johnson, Maeghan Lindsay, Emma Faulhammer

Women’s Basketball (7): Payton Gomes, Katie Hastings Van, Shawn Pallister, Paige
Hastings Van, Faith Hezekiah, Megan Noonan, Kerri Kuzbyt

Women’s Volleyball (5): Rylie Dickson, Tia Boroski, Jana Klassen, Rachel Hill, Chelsea Jones

Women’s Curling (2): Beth Peterson, Taylor Maida

Men’s Volleyball (6): Ryan Bisignano, Logan Brennan, David Bommersbach, Brendan Thielmann, Taylor Howe, Benoit Theriault

Men’s Soccer (6):
Eric Smith, Arber Hashanin, Aaron Hidalgo-Mazzei, Joshua Partaker, Kevin Roesler, Jashandeep Sangha

Men’s Basketball (2): Denzel Soliven, Khalil Lakay


Sheldon Appelle
Sports Information Coordinator
University of Winnipeg
(204) 786-9823

Comments are closed.