UWinnipeg plays with time is season closer

WINNIPEG, MB – University of Winnipeg Theatre and Film Department sweeps us through time with J. B. Priestley’s West End hit Time and the Conways performed by the Fourth Year Honours Acting class. Time and the Conways runs at the Gas Station Arts Centre from April 3 – 7, 2018.

This time-travelling play takes place at the beginning of the last century—yet still challenges contemporary notions of choice, chance and destiny. 

Time and the Conways transports us to a sitting room of an upper-class early 20th-century family. Gathered in a suburban villa in 1919, the Conways are a flourishing clan: a well-off widow in her mid-40s with her six children. They have survived World War I with most of their unexamined class assumptions intact waiting to be lanced, and we watch as the Conways are pushed through time grasping for anything to let them stand still for a moment.

The University of Winnipeg Theatre and Film Department is happy to have Ann Hodges directing the final show of their season. Hodges is a Winnipeg-based director who works across Canada in theatre, opera and musical theatre.  Favourite credits include Grey Gardens (Acting Up Stage – 7 Dora Nominations);  August: Osage County, Top Girls, Other People’s Money, Jitters, Our Country’s Good (Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre); Butcher, Hound of the Baskervilles, The December Man, Marion Bridge, The Rez Sisters (PTE); Mamma Mia!, Mary Poppins, Little Mermaid (Rainbow); Danny King of the Basement, Jabber (MTYP);  The Secret Mask (GCTC); The Birds and the Bees, The Lonely Diner (Blyth); Dear Johnny Deere, Urinetown (SATA Outstanding Production), Beauty and the Beast, Strike! (Persephone); Bashir Lazhar, Encore (TPM); and numerous operas.  Ann is a graduate of the University of Winnipeg Theatre Department and the National Theatre School of Canada.

The cast of ten fantastic actors brings life to each character:  Chelsey Grewar (Hazel Conway), Melissa Langdon (Kay Conway), Jack Maier (Gerald Thornton), Hannah McKenna (Madge Conway), Ainslie Milley (Joan Helford), Hera Mae Nalam (Carol Conway), Matthew Paris-Irvine (Ernest Beevers), Omar Samuels (Robin Conway), Amanda Shymko (Mrs. Conway), and Amber Westra (Alan Conway).

Time and the Conways runs Tuesday, April 3 through Friday, April 6 at 8:00 pm, and Saturday, April 7 at 7:00 pm at the Gas Station Arts Centre (445 River Ave).

Admission is free but reservations are recommended.  Please call our 24-hour Reservation Line at 204.786.9152, or visit UWinnipeg’s Department of Theatre and Film website at http://theatre.uwinnipeg.ca to reserve tickets online.

Based in the Asper Centre for Theatre and Film at The University of Winnipeg, the Department of Theatre and Film offers concentrations in Acting, Design, Drama in Education, Filmmaking, Playwriting, and Production/Stage Management. Our classes are small and our approach is practical.  Our faculty is comprised of highly respected and award-winning professionals who are experienced teachers and remain active in their disciplines, bringing relevant and up-to-date instruction to our students.

– 30 –

Melinda Tallin, Department of Theatre and Film, University of Winnipeg
T: 204.786.9955, E:  m.tallin@uwinnipeg.ca

Tim Babcock, Department of Theatre and Film, University of Winnipeg
T:  204-786-9455, E: t.babcock@uwinnipeg.ca .

Comments are closed.