Rapid transit to extend further south

IMG_0676Photo caption: Winnipeg Mayor Brian Bowman; the Honourable Shelly Glover, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages; and the Honourable Kevin Chief, provincial Minister of Jobs and the Economy, announce phase two of rapid transit at UWinnipeg’s Balmoral Transit Station

“The University of Winnipeg is proud to be downtown Winnipeg’s rapid transit hub and congratulates the three levels of government for working cooperatively to extend this important service,” said Dr. Annette Trimbee, President and Vice-Chancellor, UWinnipeg. “Offering a modern and sustainable transportation option benefits our students as well as visitors and the thousands of employees who commute downtown daily.”

Announcement details:  CBC news story

UWinnipeg’s Rapid Transit Hub on Campus

Balmoral Transit Station, located on the University of Winnipeg campus on the west side of the AnX at 471 Portage Avenue, is the downtown terminus for Winnipeg’s rapid transit corridor. Balmoral Transit Station offers 14 bus routes to the east and south ends of the city, in addition to offering 3 free downtown “Spirit” shuttles. Additionally commuters can stay warm inside the AnX with easy access to Starbucks, Garbonzo’s pub and UWinnipeg’s community bookstore.

IMG_0668Balmoral Transit Station Bus Routes:

1 Downtown Spirit
2 Downtown Spirit
3 Downtown Spirit
42 Plessis Express
46 Transcona Express
47 Transcona
48 McMeans Express
49 Dugald
137 Richmond Super Express
160 Downtown-University of Manitoba
161 University Super Express
162 Downtown-Fort Richmond(UM)-St. Norbert Express
163 Waverley Heights Express
170 Downtown-Fort Richmond(UM)-St. Norbert
180 Industrial Express
181 Whyte Ridge Express
183 Richmond West Express

Comments are closed.