Further collaboration with Norway on energy

UWinnipeg team in Norway - phoyo supplied

UWinnipeg team in Norway – photo supplied

Trondheim, Norway:  A UWinnipeg team is in Norway to strengthen energy research and sustainability initiatives. This is part of a three year project with the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), funded by the Norwegian Centre for International Cooperation in Education.

An exciting aspect of this program is the development of comparative course focused on Sustainable Energy.  This will be an intensive program in May 2017, open to undergraduate and master’s students from Canada and Norway.

A field school to Churchill in 2018 is also planned that will include students from NTNU in addition to UWinnipeg students. The goal is to provide students the opportunity to take on applied projects  that allow them to gain international experiences and opportunities to work with faculty.

NTNU’s Trondheim campus is undergoing a major campus relocation project to be completed by 2025. U Winnipeg is sharing how it expanded buildings while significantly cutting greenhouse gas emissions; Trondheim is sharing information on their approach to integrating sustainability and other innovative design principles into their master planning process


In September 2016, a new partnership between The University of Winnipeg and the Norwegian University of Science and Technology was formed to draw on complementary expertise involving technologies, governance frameworks, and evaluation methodologies for sustainable energy systems in the High North.

The overall goal of the High North Program is to expand, strengthen and disseminate knowledge relevant to the High North including climate change, the environment, resources, transportation and logistics, economy and issues relating to indigenous peoples.  The High North Program is funded by the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and administered by the Norwegian Centre for International Cooperation in Education.

The Team

UWinnipeg team: Patricia Fitzpatrick (PI, Geography), Danny Blair (Dean of Science, Principal, Richardson College for the Environment, Science Director Prairie Climate Centre), Chris Storie (Geography), Joni Storie (Geography), Ed Cloutis (Geography), Melanie O’Gorman (Economics), Claire Reid (MDP), Jeff Cottes (Adjunct Professor, Politics), Alana Lajoie-O’Malley, Senior Advisor Research & Sustainability.

Norwegian team: Torbjørn Skogsrød, (Dean of Faculty of Technology, Economy and Management), Andriy Verlan (Faculty), Alemayehu Gebremedhin (Faculty), Erling Onstein (Faculty), Gunnar Bergseth (International Office)

Comments are closed.