Faculty and staff members to be recognized for excellence

top right clockwise:; Dr. James Currie, Karina Kachur, Dr. Edward Byard, Lynn Jones, Dr. Scott Forbes, Dr. Craig Willis, Dr. Judith Harris, Dr. Neil Besner, Dr. Dean Peachey

top right clockwise:; Dr. James Currie, Karina Kachur, Dr. Edward Byard, Lynn Jones, Dr. Scott Forbes, Dr. Craig Willis, Dr. Judith Harris, Dr. Neil Besner, Dr. Dean Peachey

WINNIPEG, MB – The University of Winnipeg is pleased to recognize nine exceptional members of the UWinnipeg community at the upcoming Spring Convocation, which will take place on June 13 and 14.

“Honouring our faculty and staff for their extraordinary contributions is an integral part of the convocation tradition,” said Dr. Annette Trimbee, UWinnipeg President and Vice-Chancellor. “Their commitment to excellence and willingness to share their knowledge strengthens UWinnipeg’s foundations and positively impacts our society as a whole.”

Embodying excellence in academics, research, mentorship, governance, and community engagement, the nine individuals whose achievements will be celebrated are:

Dr. Dean Peachey: Clifford J. Robson Memorial Award for Teaching Excellence
Peachey’s former students reference him as a mentor, leader, and influential professor. Passionate about transitional justice, peace building, and reconciliation, Peachey is a successful educator known for his consistent effort to develop innovative, creative, and adaptive teaching methods and approaches to reach all students. 

Dr. Craig Willis: Erica & Arnold Rogers Award for Excellence in Research & Scholarship
Willis is known at UWinnipeg as “The BatProf” because of his work on the ecology and conservation of North American bats. Over the past decade, Willis has become a leading authority on white-nose syndrome (WNS), a disease that is devastating bat populations across North America. 

Dr. James Currie: Robin H. Farquhar Award for Excellence in Contributing to Self-Governance
Since becoming Assistant Professor in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics in 1988, Currie has made an immense contribution to self-governance at UWinnipeg, serving on committees and administrative bodies at all levels, he now serves as Vice-President, Academic and Provost. Currie models the belief that good academic self-governance requires strong scholars to accept service in administrative roles.

Dr. Scott Forbes: Marsha Hanen Award for Excellence in Creating Community Awareness
Over nearly three decades at UWinnipeg, Forbes’ research into fisheries, wildlife, ecology and behaviour has been instrumental in elevating the institution’s image within the public eye. His ability to express complex issues in a way that is easy to understand exemplifies the kinds of interactions academics should have with the general public — both to the benefit of Manitobans as well as UWinnipeg. 

Karina Kachur: Campus Sustainability Award
Kachur encourages sustainability through her work with student volunteer programs, sharing of gardening knowledge, and collaboration with community partners. After her arrival at UWinnipeg, she has been involved in teaching and sharing sustainable growing practices with students and the community since 2016. Currently a biology instructor, Kachur coordinates the biology department’s annual plant giveaway project. 

Dr. Judith Harris: Stars of Spence Street Prize
Harris is a gifted educator in the field of urban and inner-city studies. She has a vested interest in social learning, in which people learn from one another, with a focus on transformative education. She is committed to making education equitable and accessible for some of the most marginalized people in our society.

Lynn Jones: Stars of Spence Street Prize
Jones’ dedication to UWinnipeg, her alma mater, is second to none. Throughout her 40-plus years of service, in a variety of roles, she has done everything she could to make UWinnipeg a better place for students, faculty, and staff. 

Dr. Neil Besner: Professor Emeritus
Besner began what became a distinguished career at UWinnipeg when he joined the Department of English in 1987. Known for his integrity, love of language, and sharp wit, Besner accumulated an impressive record of contributions in all domains of the University — including scholarship, community, and administration. 

Dr. Edward Byard: Fellowship in United College
Byard’s 37 years of service to UWinnipeg as a faculty member have left an indelible mark on the academic, administrative, and socio-cultural life on campus. He has influenced generations of students throughout an academic career that includes a substantial record of scholarly publications in refereed journals, and teaching at all levels of the biology curriculum.

Naniece Ibrahim, Communications Officer, The University of Winnipeg
P: 204.988.7130, E: n.ibrahim@uwinnipeg.ca

1 Comment

  • Gabriela Aguero said...

    So pleased to hear that Dean Peachy is receiving this award! I have presented as an artist at his classes on two occassions and I was so happy to see what level on involvement his students had on discussions. He has inspired so many people including myself to be a better teacher. Congratulations!!