Aaron Trachtenberg Wins Rhodes Scholarship

Aaron Trachtenberg

University of Winnipeg graduate Aaron Trachtenberg

Science graduate becomes UWinnipeg’s 30th Rhodes Scholar

WINNIPEG, MB – The Rhodes Scholarship Selection Committee today named University of Winnipeg graduate Aaron Trachtenberg one of its three Rhodes Scholarship winners in the Prairie Region. The 21-year-old Trachtenberg – a June 2007 Bachelor of Science graduate with a major in Biopsychology – becomes UWinnipeg’s 30th Rhodes Scholar.

Trachtenberg is a Winnipegger who graduated from Ecole Kelvin High School. He is a previous winner of the prestigious Sir William Stephenson Scholarship for outstanding academic achievement, superior leadership qualities and the potential to make a valuable contribution to Canada. He is also a recipient of a Natural Sciences & Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Undergraduate Research Award.

“Aaron represents the best qualities of a University of Winnipeg student – he is an intelligent individual who carries his passion for excellence beyond the University into community,” said UWinnipeg President & Vice-Chancellor Dr. Lloyd Axworthy. “With his research award, Aaron has already proved that there are excellent research opportunities for students at UWinnipeg even before they earn their first degree. We are very proud of his accomplishments and we wish him further success in his graduate career at Oxford.”

Trachtenberg’s accomplishments go beyond the classroom, as he plays and coaches team handball. He has competed internationally in the sport as a goaltender for Team Canada. He also served as a volunteer at the Health Sciences Centre in his spare time.

“I couldn’t have won this without The University of Winnipeg,” Trachtenberg said about the Rhodes Scholarship. “The University has prepared me entirely for this moment. Whether it’s been great classes and professors to summer jobs and research opportunities, The University of Winnipeg has helped me develop as a student and as a person.”

Trachtenberg is looking to do graduate studies at Oxford in the Fall of 2008 with a focus in neuroscience.

The Rhodes Scholarships, first awarded in Canada in 1904, are the best known of international scholarships. They are financed and administered by the Oxford-based Rhodes Trust established under the will of Cecil Rhodes. Up to 11 Rhodes Scholarships are awarded annually in Canada, including three in the Prairie Region of Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba.

The Scholarship, tenable for two or three years, covers tuition fees and an allowance of 11,000 pounds per annum. Selection is made by committee after personal interviews and on the basis of a candidate’s record. Although scholastic ability is of importance, such factors as character, qualities of leadership and interest in sports are carefully considered. Distinction, whether in intellect or character or a combination of these, is the essential requirement.

Rhodes Scholars: The University of Winnipeg’s Academic Legacy

Students from The University of Winnipeg, home to approximately five per cent of the Western Region student population, have received six out of the 33 Rhodes Scholarships allotted to the prairies in the past 11 years. Overall, The University of Winnipeg/United College family of alumni has 30 Rhodes Scholars within its distinguished membership:


2007 Aaron Trachtenberg
2006 Alana Lajoie-O’Malley
2002 Ariel Zylberman
2001 Karlee Silver
1997 David Selchen
1996 Mark Matz
1993 Claudia Hudspeth
1992 Arash Abizadeh
1975 Jim Matthews
1974 Boris William Tyzuk
1959 D. Trevor Anderson, QC
1950 Norman Cantor
1950 William Norrie, CM, OM, QC
1946 Robert Joseph Moysee
1942 Neill Edward Currie
1938 Ruston William Lawson
1927 John King Gordon
1916 C. Rhodes Smith
1916 G. P. R. Tallin
1913 William Burton Hurd
1912 Simon Abrahamson
1912 Alfred Ewart
1912 Morley S. Lougheed
1912 W.F. Nason
1911 Eldon Rooklidge Siddall
1910 Joseph T. Thorson
1909 Skuli Johnson
1908 Howard Robert
Lawrence Henry
1905 William J. Rose

Prairie Rhodes Scholarships for 2008 [PDF: 1P/ 20KB]

– 30 –

Shawn Coates, Director of Marketing & Communications, University of Winnipeg
P: 204.988.7127, C: 204.230.0202, E: s.coates@uwinnipeg.ca

Comments are closed.