University of Winnipeg Foundation

Examining socially responsible and green investment options

Student-led initiative on divestment sparks collaborative campus approach Following months of campus consultations and an open examination of “divestment,” The University of Winnipeg Board of Regents this evening voted to adopt a collaborative approach to the issue. It noted that UWinnipeg is updating its Sustainability Policy and Institutional Sustainability Strategy to ensure that the institution …Read more >

Construction begins on new Leatherdale Hall

  A ground-breaking ceremony was held today to celebrate construction of Leatherdale Hall, a $ 4.75 million dollar addition to The University of Winnipeg’s Wesley Hall and the Collegiate high school on campus. A generous lead gift of $2.5 million in November 2015 from the late Dr. Douglas W. and Mrs. Louise Leatherdale has attracted …Read more >

Model School success — eight more students graduate

WINNIPEG, MB –Autumn Monkman and Kyla-Alexis Bailey will proudly receive high school diplomas this week and both 18 year-olds are continuing their studies in September at The University of Winnipeg. The Model School at The University of Winnipeg Convocation takes place Wednesday, May 11th at 7:30 pm in the Duckworth Centre.  Eight students are graduating …Read more >

Divestment Dialogue on campus

UWinnipeg is currently examining the issue of fossil fuel divestment as it pertains to both Foundation endowment and pension plan investments. Fossil fuel divestment is the removal of assets including stocks, bonds, and investment funds from companies involved in extracting fossil fuels. In 2014, divestment at UWinnipeg was raised by the University of Winnipeg Students’ …Read more >

UWinnipeg congratulates student award winners

Flickr slideshow: hover mouse over photo to use arrows to scroll through  The University of Winnipeg is deeply proud of the student award winners honoured January 13 at the annual Awards Night of Excellence at the Delta Hotel. Approximately 200 students attended, together receiving more than 280 awards. In addition to award recipients, the evening also …Read more >

UWinnipeg students compete for ‘School of the Year’

A team from UWinnipeg will compete against 11 of Western Canada’s top business schools for the ‘School of the Year’ title at the annual prestigious Jeux du Commerce.

UWinnipeg’s 2015 Duff Roblin Scholars

The Honourable Duff Roblin (1917-2010), former Premier of Manitoba, was a lifelong advocate for advanced education in Manitoba. More than 35 students have received fellowships which support Indigenous scholarship through the Duff Roblin Scholars Fund to date. Vanessa Tait Born and raised in northern Manitoba, Vanessa Tait is proud of her roots as a Cree …Read more >

$2.5 million gift supports new Leatherdale Hall

 Expansion includes new academic, community spaces and return of beloved “Tony’s Canteen” WINNIPEG, MB – The University of Winnipeg Board of Regent’s last night approved construction of a $ 4.75 million dollar addition to Wesley Hall and the Collegiate, made possible by a generous lead gift of $2.5 million from Dr. Douglas W. and Mrs. …Read more >

Inspiring reconciliation – Duff Roblin dinner with Justice Murray Sinclair

Inspiring reconciliation – Duff Roblin dinner with Justice Murray Sinclair by Diane Poulin November 18, 2015 – “Reconciliation is not as complicated as we think. It boils down to this. I want to be your friend, and I want you to be my friend.” In a packed ballroom in Winnipeg’s Fort Garry Hotel, more than …Read more >

Hon.Justice Murray Sinclair 2015 Duff Roblin award recipient

WINNIPEG, MB – The University of Winnipeg is proud to announce The Honourable Mr. Justice Murray Sinclair as the recipient of the 2015 Duff Roblin Award, a Manitoban with a profound dedication to education and community. The dinner will be held Tuesday, November 17, 2015 at the Fort Garry Hotel with proceeds supporting students through …Read more >