UWinnipeg Faculty and Students Receive Prestigious Grants

WINNIPEG, MB -The Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) today awarded ten talented University of Winnipeg faculty and students prestigious grants.

Four Insight Grants totaling $342,794 were awarded to Darlene Abreu-Ferreira (History), Danielle Gaucher (Psychology), Kirsten Kramar (Sociology) and Albert Welter (Religion & Culture). Insight Grants provide stable support for long-term research initiatives, enabling scholars to address complex issues pertaining to individuals and societies, and to further our collective understanding.

Six UWinnipeg students also received the Joseph-Armand Bombardier Canada Graduate Scholarships today totaling 105,000 ($17,500 each). The students were from Rhetoric, Sociology, Psychology, English, Politics and Classics.

These awards support research skills in students who demonstrate a high standard of achievement in the social sciences and humanities.

“These significant awards underline the research achievements of our students and faculty, and we are very pleased with this substantial recognition of their work,” said Dr. Neil Besner, Vice-President (Research, Recruitment and International.)

The Honourable Gary Goodyear, Minister of State (Science and Technology), made the announcement today while at Carleton University in Ottawa. The investment funds projects that examine topics directly linked to enhancing Canada’s long-term prosperity, productivity and quality of life. Find out more at: http://www.sshrc-crsh.gc.ca/home-accueil-eng.aspx

In June 2012, SSHRC announced three major grants involving UWinnipeg researchers who are participating in national projects which each received $2.5 million for a total of $7.5 million in new research funding.

Dr. Jino Distasio, Director of the Institute for Urban Studies is the Winnipeg leader in a University of Toronto-led study that is examining what drives change in seven cities. UWinnipeg political science professor Dr. Chris Leo and Dr. Tom Carter (retired, past Canada Research Chair in Urban Change and Adaptation) are also participants.

The second study, based out of the University of Trent, involves Distasio as well as UWinnipeg’s Dr. Evelyn Peters, Canada Research Chair in Inner-City Issues, Community Learning, and Engagement and Dr. Dawn Sutherland, Canada Research Chair in Science Education in Cultural Contexts, for establishment of an Aboriginal knowledge network.

The third study will be carried out by the Manitoba Research Alliance (MRA), a community-based team whose partners include researchers from The University of Winnipeg, University of Manitoba and a large number of inner-city, northern and Aboriginal community-based organizations, and which is headed by the Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives-Manitoba (CCPA-Mb). The objective of this research project is to work closely with community-based organizations to develop a deepened understanding of the new poverty of the past 30 years, to figure out what works well and what does not in solving poverty-related issues.

– 30 –



Diane Poulin, Communications Officer, The University of Winnipeg

P: 204.988.7135, E: d.poulin@uwinnipeg.ca


Comments are closed.