Master’s in Development Practice scholarship winners

Jasmin Winter, ©UWinnipeg

Jasmin Winter, ©UWinnipeg

UWinnipeg’s Master’s in Development Practice program (MDP) announced five of their scholarship winners. The MDP is an innovative professional degree that uniquely focuses on Indigenous development.

The winners include Jasmin Winter, who earned a 2016 Manitoba Graduate Scholarship, awarded on the basis of academic excellence; Barbara Gardner, Stephen Penner and Cassandra Szabo, each earned a University of Winnipeg Graduate Studies Scholarship, awarded on the basis of academic excellence and demonstrated commitment to community service; and Aliraza Alidina* and Nana Araba Asaam each received the prestigious Canadian Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Scholarship (QES), awarded to international students from Commonwealth countries on the basis of academic excellence and demonstrated leadership.

Claire P. Reid as the new director of the Master’s in Development Practice (MDP), a graduate program specializing in Indigenous Development.

Claire P. Reid

“I am delighted to see these students’ academic achievements and commitment to community recognized so clearly through these prestigious awards,” shared Claire Reid, MDP Director. “These awards acknowledge the importance of their learning journeys and future goals. I applaud the donors that create and sustain important awards such as these, for investing into the education of our emerging leaders.”

UWinnipeg’s MDP program integrates fully and seamlessly the theory and practice of development with the experience of Indigenous culture and knowledge and is the the only MDP program in the world to focus on how Indigenous knowledge and experience can help shape a sustainable path for development, rooted in culture and identity. This professional program is offered by a network of over twenty-five leading universities on six continents. For more information on this innovative development program visit UWinnipeg’s Master’s in Development Practice program.

*Alidina first received the QES during the 2015-2016 academic year and successfully had the award renewed for a second year.

Comments are closed.