Celebrating Research at UWinnipeg: From Tree Rings to Indigenous Science Educati..

The University of Winnipeg’s expertise in environmental research, Aboriginal education, children’s literature and natural sciences were recently recognized by the federal government’s Canada Research Chairs program and the Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI).

The University of Winnipeg paid tribute to its two newest Canada Research Chair appointments, Mavis Reimer and Dawn Sutherland; a renewed Canada Research Chair Jacques Tardif; and Jeff Martin, a CFI recipient at a celebration on Monday, February 19, 2007.

University of Winnipeg President Dr. Lloyd Axworthy says he is proud of the faculty members who have been honoured for their outstanding research and scholarship by the Canada Research Chairs program.

“These appointments reflect very well on the quality and significance of research underway at The University of Winnipeg,” said Axworthy. “Our students will reap the benefits of collaborating on world-class research and studying in an enriching and motivating environment. The Government of Canada has clearly recognized and rewarded The University of Winnipeg’s leadership in the areas of science, environmental studies, children’s literature and Aboriginal education.”

Dr. Dawn Sutherland, awarded a Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Science Education in 2006, is exploring the relationship between culture and science education in Indigenous communities, in particular in Manitoba. A five-year, $500,000 appointment, this Canada Research Chair builds on Sutherland’s expertise teaching education students in the field of science by incorporating traditional Aboriginal knowledge into her lessons. She aims to have Aboriginal culture integrated into school curricula so science education is more meaningful, interesting, and relevant for Aboriginal students. Sutherland’s research will also benefit UWinnipeg’s Innovative Learning Centre which includes programs with local schools such as Eco-Kids: Adventures in Environmental Science new Richardson College for the Environment first announced last Fall. An additional $75,000 in infrastructure funding from the CFI-Leader’s Opportunity Fund is also anticipated for this research.

Dr. Mavis Reimer, Associate Professor in English, was named Canada Research Chair in the Culture of Childhood in 2005. A five-year, $500,000 appointment, this Canada Research Chair focuses on children’s literature and the culture of childhood. Reimer also received $75,000 in infrastructure funding from the CFI-Leader’s Opportunity Fund. The overall objective of Reimer’s research is to account for the cultural work of texts directed to children and youth and to encourage the critical thinking in young readers.

Dr. Jeff Martin, Assistant Professor in Physics, was awarded CFI research funding in 2006 for a Subatomic Physics Detector Lab. The $220,000 in funding he received includes a $90,000 CFI-Leaders Opportunity Fund grant, $90,000 from the Province of Manitoba and $40,000 from various corporate donors. The detector lab increases the capacity for research and training at UWinnipeg and enables students to contribute to collaborative subatomic physics research being conducted on an international scale.

Dr. Jacques Tardif, first named Canada Research Chair in Dendrochronology in 2002, had his CRC renewed in 2007 for another five-year, $500,000 appointment. Tardif also received $75,000 in infrastructure funding from the CFI-Leaders’ Opportunity Fund. As Canada Research Chair in Dendrochronology, Tardif, Associate Professor in Biology, conducts field and laboratory work to collect and analyze samples of tree-rings from various parts of Manitoba. His objectives are an improved understanding of climate change patterns, forest disturbances and providing an effective planning tool.

At Monday’s event, UWinnipeg President Dr. Lloyd Axworthy, along with Dr. Claudia Wright, Acting Vice-President (Research and Graduate Studies), will speak briefly about the Canada Research Chair and CFI programs and award recipients. John ApSimon, Executive Director of the Canada Research Chairs Program will bring greetings on behalf of the Government of Canada. Reimer, Sutherland, Tardif and Martin will be available for media interviews.

The Canada Research Chairs Program stands at the centre of a national strategy by the Government of Canada to make Canada one of the world’s top five countries for research and development. The Canada Research Chairs Program invests $300 million a year to attract and retain some of the world’s most accomplished and promising minds. Chairholders advance the frontiers of knowledge in their fields, not only through their own work, but also by teaching and supervising students and coordinating the work of other researchers.

The Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI) is an independent corporation created by the Government of Canada to fund research infrastructure. The CFI’s mandate is to strengthen the capacity of Canadian universities, colleges, research hospitals, and non-profit research institutions to carry out world-class research and technology development that benefits Canadians.

Comments are closed.