2017 Distinguished Alumni — Call For Nominations

Frank Albo

Dr. Frank Albo (supplied photo) 2016 Distinguished Alumni recipient

The University of Winnipeg Alumni Association is calling for nominations from the public for its annual naming of two Distinguished Alumni in 2017. Named at the Spring and Fall Convocations, the Award honours alumni of The University of Winnipeg who have achieved great distinction through their contributions to the University and/or the local or global community. Nominations are accepted from anyone throughout the year, and are considered for two consecutive years.

“In our recognition of the professional, academic, and personal achievements of alumni, our aim is to commemorate the legacy of lifelong learning and civic service that the University of Winnipeg inspires in its graduates” said UWinnipeg Alumni Association President, Sarah Bezan. “Honouring the contributions made by alumni to our community also serves as a poignant reminder of the potential impact of each and every student who is poised for graduation and eager to make their own indelible mark on the world. The Distinguished Alumni Award is a tremendous honour and a celebration of the University’s most prominent and gifted leaders.”

The 2016 Award winners were Jennifer Frain, a leading clinical psychologist and President of the Canadian Psychological Association, and Frank Albo, an architectural scholar whose ground-breaking research on The Manitoba Legislative Building (which culminated in the publication of his book, The Hermetic Code) influenced architectural scholarship both in Canada and abroad.

Previous recipients of the award include James Wilson, former Treaty Commissioner for the Treaty Relations Commission of Manitoba; Stefano Grande, Executive Director for the Downtown Winnipeg BIZ; Ida Albo, hotelier, entrepreneur, and philanthropist; former mayor Susan Thompson; and filmmaker Guy Maddin.

Nominations should include:

  1. A nomination form
  2. A letter of support stating the reasons for making the nomination and speaking to the nominee’s suitability for the award.

Distinguished Alumni Award nominations are due Friday, February 17, 2017.

For more information, click here, e-mail alumni@uwinnipeg.ca or call 204-988-7118.

Media inquiries:
Sarah Bezan, UWinnipeg Alumni Association President
204.218.3992 | sarah_bezan@hotmail.com

Comments are closed.