News Archives

UWinnipeg honours the 2017 Retirees

The University of Winnipeg will honour its retirees at a reception on Wednesday, May 10, 2017 in Riddell Hall at 2:00 pm. All are welcome to attend.

Longtime Library staffer awarded Stars of Spence Street Prize

Over the course of 34 years, John Dobson has worked in nearly every department of the Library. UWinnipeg will present Dobson with the Stars of Spence Street Prize at this year’s Spring Convocation.

Dr. Sandy O’Sullivan keynote lecturer for Museum Queeries workshop

UWinnipeg welcomes Wiradjuri researcher Dr. Sandy O’Sullivan, (Batchelor Institute, Northern Territory of Australia), to deliver the keynote lecture that opens the Museum Queeries: Intersectional Interventions into Museum Cultures and Practices workshop, that runs from June 2-4, 2017. O’Sullivan’s lecture is on Friday, June 2, 2017 at 4:00 pm in Eckhardt Gramatté, This is free and open to the public.

Victoria Day Closure

The University of Winnipeg and The Collegiate will be closed on Victoria Day, Monday, May 22 and will reopen on Tuesday, May 23, 2017. This closure includes The Duckworth Centre,  Axworthy Health and RecPlex, and Diversity Foods. Exceptions: Garbonzo’s  Open Monday from 4:00 pm to 10:00 pm Stella’s Open Monday from 7:00 am to 12:00 am

Community use of RecPlex doubles

Neighbourhood youth and groups now total 2,000 visits weekly WINNIPEG, MB –Community participation in The University of Winnipeg’s Axworthy Health and RecPlex has doubled in the past year with high-quality free programming attracting 2,000 unique weekly visits during the peak fall and winter months. Approximately 75% of participants are children and youth. The RecPlex, which …Read more >

Faculty to be honoured at Spring Convocation

WINNIPEG, MB – The University of Winnipeg is pleased to honour four of its outstanding faculty members at the upcoming Spring Convocation ceremonies on June 15 and 16, 2017.  The awards include the distinguished titles of Professor Emeritus, Fellowship in United College, and other notable faculty and staff awards. (Awards listed in alphabetical order by …Read more >

UWinnipeg’s trio of Queen Elizabeth Scholars

Three UWinnipeg students have each earned a prestigious Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Scholarship (QEII) valued at $6,000 that will allow them to go overseas for three months to advance their art studies.

UWinnipeg professor wins math education prize

UWinnipeg’s Dr. Anna Stokke (mathematics and statistics) has been selected as the winner of the 2017 Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences (PIMS) Education Prize for her education advocacy in mathematics.

Paul Thomas, Cindy Blackstock, Byron Williams to receive honorary doctorates

Scholar Paul Thomas, Indigenous activist Cindy Blackstock, and public interest lawyer Byron Williams will each receive an honorary doctor of laws from The University of Winnipeg at Spring Convocation on Thursday, June 15, 2017 and Friday, June 16, 2017. Paul Thomas has served as a scholar, teacher, researcher, and mentor in the field of public …Read more >

Sinclair lecture postponed, free panel discussion this evening

Due to unforeseen circumstances, this evening’s campus lecture featuring Senator Murray Sinclair (part of UWinnipeg’s spring institute “The University and the Public Good”) has been postponed. In its place will be a panel discussion on the topic “Indigenizing the University,” with Dr. Niigaanwewidam James Sinclair, Department of Native Studies at the University of Manitoba; Dr. Mary …Read more >